Mamilla Mall Sculptures Overlooking the Old City Walls

Officially known as “Alrov Mamilla Avenue ” (Please see: http://www.alrovmamilla.com/) most Jerusalemites refer to it simply as “Mamilla” or “Kanyon Mamilla” (Mamilla Mall).  “Mamilla” is located between the Old City ‘s Jaffa Gate (near the Valley of Hinmon) and King David Street at its junction with Agron Street .  The mall combines an outdoor promenade and a two-level indoor shopping mall containing many of the city’s most fashionable boutiques, art galleries, fashion chain stores, and restaurants.  During the months of October and November the mall featured an outdoor sculpture exhibition which I photographed and am sharing below.   All of the photographs are straightforward street scenes, none of the people in them posed for me.  

Mamilla Mall Gateway with Violin

Silently sitting and watching

Bust of a jester looking out

Reality Echoes Art

The Journey is...

...the reward

These young ladies are learning new dance steps!

Mamilla Static Movement

Vertical Horizontality slicing up Mamilla

Work Break

The legend on the sculpture to the left reads "What is essential is invisible to the eye." (Saint-Exupery)

Three guards

A Big Foot at Mamilla

Smoke Shop and Indian

Fish and Mango!

(All photographs for this blog post are original works by Isa David-Ben-Rafael and are owned by IsraeLightly)

If you enjoyed viewing this post you may also wish to view IsraeLightly’s “Alrov Mamilla Mall: Now Featuring the Bible!” Posted in the June 2011 Archive section

2 responses to “Mamilla Mall Sculptures Overlooking the Old City Walls

  1. Pingback: Mamilla – Jerusalem | Cultural Travel·

  2. hello, thank you for liking my photos of the Mamilla Mall Sculptures and for adding it as a link on your page. I enjoyed your article and photos — thank you for sharing!

    I am new to blogging and not very good with the technical side of it. I will ask one of my children to assist me and then I will add a link to your site on my page!

    In the meantime I note that we both attended the same Shem Tov Levy event at Hebrew University and that we both blogged about it! Did you have the time to read my article about it?

    Best wishes for a lovely Wednesday.

    IsraeLightly

Leave a comment