#BringBackOurBoys

Today, is my own son’s birthday. 23 years ago, shortly after “me boyo” was born, his father David, z”l, recited the blessings for the birth of a child and then added his favorite Tehillim (Psalms) 96:12 line: “The field and all that is in it will jubilate, then all the trees of the forest will sing for joy.”
Today, I stand before the Throne of G-d and pray: 
I am personally thankful for all that You, Mighty & Merciful G-d of Israel, have seen fit to shower upon my children and me. And yet, please G-d in Your Good Heaven, forgive me, I can not make the blessing of Shehecheyanu for “me boyo’s” birthday, for I know that it would lack the proper Cavana B’Tefilla (prayerful devotion) because Rebono Shel Olam (Master of the Universe), today, together with the entire House of Israel, I am also the mother and father of these three boys – Yaacov Naftali ben Rachel, Gilad Michael ben Bat-Galim, and Eyal ben Iris Teshura –
“Adoshem, G-d of my deliverance; by day I cried before You, at night I stood before You in prayer. Let my prayer come before You, incline Your ear to my song.” (Tehillim 88:2-3) “For You have been a help to me, and in the shadow of Your wings I will joyfully sing. My soul cleaves after You; Your right hand supports me.” (Tehillim 63:8-9)
I bow down before You, My Master, My G-d, and with the fullest Cavana B’Tefila beg You: Please, Oh Please, Rebono Shel Olam, forgive all of us for our lack of patience, but today, right now, answer our prayers, please return our three boys – Yaacov Naftali ben Rachel, Gilad Michael ben Bat-Galim, and Eyal ben Iris Teshura – healthy and whole, home to their families. Thank You, Amen.

Leave a Reply

