Soldier Mom: Baking Cookies!

When my son and his friends were first drafted into the Israeli Defense Forces (IDF) they regularly requested home made cookies. At the height of my cookie baking for “me boyz and girlz of the IDF” I was easily baking a weekly gross of cookies – for those of you who like me are math challenged that’s 144 cookies! For a time Friday mornings became known as “Cookie-adah Day”, the house smelled delicious and soldiers stopped by to say “Shabbat Shalom” and collect their chocolate chip cookie care packages. Then “me boyz and girlz of the IDF” finished their basic training and completed their first year of IDF service.
Chocolate Chip Cookies1
Chocolate Chip Cookies2
 
I thought my cookie baking days were over. But with last week’s cold snap some of them remembered my cookies. This week I baked 9 dozen oatmeal raisin cookies which will go to my son’s base and will be eaten up along with hot tea and strong coffee during the soldiers’ breaks. My mother always said: “Baking is Love”.  I am glad that this past week “me boyz and girlz of the IDF” remembered that I love them very much!
 
Oatmeal raisin cookies
 
 
All photographs for this blog post are by Isa David-Ben-Rafael and are owned by IsraeLightly
Leave a Reply

