Day 8: Operation Pillar of Defense, The Western Wall, Jerusalem

Late this morning a dear friend and I went up to the Western Wall to sing out Psalms. I had expected to find the Old City empty, instead I found that it was bustling with people from all over the world. At the Western Wall a young Israeli woman was reciting Psalm 40 (Tehillim Perech Mem). My eyes fell on the 2nd verse: “I waited patiently for the L-rd; and he inclined to me, and heard my cry.” 
Not far from her standing closer to the wall were Roman Catholic women – “Group Mapi, Brasil”     
Once I finished my own Psalm singing and prayers, on my out of the Western Wall Plaza Area I noticed other tour groups.
 
Nigerian Protestant Christians:
Italian Catholics: 
and others from the world over:
and finally a Palestinian-Muslim School Girl walking by…
It was then that I remembered: “Even them will I bring to my holy mountain, and make them joyful in my house of prayer: their burnt offerings and their sacrifices shall be accepted on my altar; for my house shall be called a house of prayer for all people.” (Yesha’yahu/Isaiah 56:7)
All photographs for this post by Isa David-Ben-Rafael, copyright owned by IsraeLightly
Leave a Reply

